Managing assignments requires View-Edit permissions.

To remove a person or placeholder from a project, you’ll need to delete or reassign all of their time assignments on the project. Just click on their assignments and the Assignment Form will appear. Then select Delete or reassign using the Person menu. 

remove

After you’ve deleted or reassigned this person or placeholder’s time on the project, they’ll be removed from it automatically.