After you’ve integrated your accounts and linked your clients, projects, and people, some changes to your data will sync automatically, while others will require you to make changes in both accounts.

Data that automatically syncs:

For Linked Projects

  • Edits to project name, code, and client.
  • The archived or active status of a project.
  • The remaining hourly budgets of your Harvest projects. You can see more about this feature here.

For Linked Clients

  • Edits to client name.
  • The archived or active status of a client.

For Linked People

  • Edits made by a person to their name or email address, if that person has permission to sign into Forecast.
  • Edits made to a person’s name by another user, if the edited person has permission to sign into Forecast.
  • Edits to a person’s capacity.
  • Edits to a person’s roles.

Capacity

  • Edits to your company’s default capacity or an individual person’s capacity.

Roles

  • The creation, deletion, or editing of any roles.

Data that doesn’t automatically sync:

For Linked Projects

  • New projects added to either Harvest or Forecast. If you create a new project in either account, you’ll need to either manually import it from Harvest to Forecast or push the project from one app to the other. You can read more about these options here.
  • Deleted projects in Harvest or Forecast. If you delete a linked project in either account, it will not be deleted in the other account.

For Linked Clients

  • New clients added to Harvest. If you create a new client in Harvest, you’ll need to manually import it from Harvest to Forecast or sync it to Forecast by pushing a project that belongs to the client from Harvest to Forecast.
  • New clients added to Forecast. If you create a new client in Forecast, it can only be synced to Harvest if you push a project that belongs to the client from Forecast to Harvest.

For Linked People

  • Edits made to the status of a person: whether they are active, archived, or deleted.
  • Edits made to a person’s email address by another user.
  • Edits made to a person’s name by another user, if that person doesn’t have permission to sign into Forecast.
  • Edits made by a person to their name or email address in Harvest, if that person doesn’t have permission to sign into Forecast.
  • People added to either Harvest or Forecast after you set up the integration.
    • If you create completely new data in Harvest, you must choose to import it into Forecast.
    • People created in Forecast can’t be synced or imported into Harvest. We recommend always creating new team members in Harvest first.