Administrators can reassign multiple time entries from one project or task to another, all at once! This can be useful if, for example, someone has been tracking time to the wrong project or task. This can also be useful if you need to split one project into two and move some time from the original project to the new one, or if you’d like to merge two different tasks into one.

Bulk editing time entries can be done from the Detailed Time Report. Note that there are a few things to be aware of:

  • Project managers can run Detailed Time Reports, but they can’t bulk move time entries because they can’t edit other people’s time.
  • If a person or task included in the entries isn’t already assigned to the new project, we’ll add them for you.
  • You can move time even if it’s already been approved.
  • You can’t move time if it’s already been invoiced.
  • You can move uninvoiced time to a project that’s already been invoiced for the time period in question. If you want to bill your client for the moved time entries, you’ll need to create another invoice for that time period.

Bulk Move Hours To Another Project

  1. Go to Reports > Detailed Time.
  2. Set the filters so they only capture the time entries you want to update, then run the report.
  3. Click the Bulk Actions dropdown.
  4. Select Move hours to another project.
  5. In the dialog that appears, select the project you’d like to move the hours to, then click Next Step.
  6. Review the changes that will be made. If everything looks correct, type MOVE into the text field and click the Move Hours button.
  7. The Detailed Time Report will update with the changes highlighted.

Bulk Move Hours To Another Task

  1. Go to Reports > Detailed Time.
  2. Set the filters so they only capture the time entries you want to update, then run the report.
  3. Click the Bulk Actions dropdown.
  4. Select Move hours to another task.
  5. In the dialog that appears, select the task you’d like to move the hours to, then click Next Step.
  6. Review the changes that will be made. If everything looks correct, type MOVE into the text field and click the Move Hours button.
  7. The Detailed Time Report will update with the changes highlighted.