You can enter all of your expenses under Expenses in Harvest. If you use Timesheet Approval, you can also submit them for approval with the rest of your timesheet.

Creating an Expense

  1. Go to Expenses.
    • Note: If you don’t see this section, an administrator may need to turn it on under Settings > Choose Modules.
  2. Click the green New Expense button.
  3. Choose your date, project, and category. Enter your amount, which may be a monetary amount or another unit that administrators can set up under Manage > Expense Categories. You can also add a note or expense receipt.
    • Note: Expenses can be entered in the associated client’s currency. You can update that currency on a client’s profile under Manage > Clients.
  4. Check the box beside This expense is billable if necessary. “Billable” means you will invoice your client for the expense. Nonbillable expenses are not billed to your clients. They cannot be pulled into an invoice, and are not included in your uninvoiced amounts.
    • Note: Expenses tracked to billable projects will default to being billable. Expenses tracked to nonbillable projects will, by default, be nonbillable.
  5. Click Save Expense.

If you’re an administrator, you can edit another person’s expenses by clicking the Teammates button in the top right of your expenses screen.

Note: Your list of expense options—which we call expense categories—can be added and edited under Manage > Expense Categories. You can read more about managing expense categories here.

Uploading a Receipt

In Expenses you can upload a receipt when you add an expense. There are two ways to do this:

  1. Click the Attach Receipt link.
  2. Drag and drop your receipt image into the gray New Expense box.

Some things to keep in mind:

  • You can upload these file types: .png, .gif, .pdf, .jpg, .jpeg
  • You can also upload receipts from the iPhone app or Android app.

How to Edit or Delete Expenses

All users can edit or delete unlocked expense entries. Administrators can edit another person’s expenses by clicking the Teammates button in the upper right corner of your expense screen.

Unlocked Expenses

  1. Go to Expenses.
  2. Click the pencil icon that appears to the right of your expense entry.
  3. Edit your info, then click Update Expense. You can delete your expense by clicking the Delete link.

Locked Expenses

An expense may be locked if it’s been invoiced, approved, or the project or person related to the expense is archived.

Administrators can edit the Notes or Amount on a locked expense entry or permanently delete it. Project managers and regular users cannot edit locked expenses.

  1. Go to Expenses.
  2. Click on the lock icon that appears to the right of your expense entry.
  3. Edit your Notes and Amount, then save. To permanently delete an expense, click the Delete link.

If you need to edit the Project/Expense Category on a locked expense or unlock multiple expense entries, please see this page for instructions.