Roles are descriptors for your teammates that let you associate a person with their responsibility or position at your company. Some example of roles are: Designer, Sales, Manager, NYC Office, etc.

Roles are handy when running Team reports or Detailed Time or Expense Reports. You’ll be able to filter to any role in your company, to see reports for just the people who are on that role.

Creating and Assigning Roles

Administrators can create roles, and assign them to teammates, in two ways: on a person’s profile, or on the Manage Roles page.

To create a role on a person’s profile:

  1. Head to Team, then click the Actions dropdown to the right of the team member you’d like to apply a role to.
  2. Select Edit.
  3. Go to the person’s Basic Info (left menu).
  4. In the Roles field, add any existing or new role you’d like.
  5. Click the Update Info button at the bottom to save your changes.

To create a role on the Manage Roles page:

  1. Head to Manage > Roles.
  2. Click the New Role button.
  3. Enter the name of your role, and select the people you’d like to be assigned to the role.
  4. Click the Save Role button.

Editing Roles

To edit the name of a role, or to edit the people assigned to a role:

  1. Head to Manage > Roles.
  2. Click the Edit button for any role you’d like to change.
  3. Make your edits, then click the Save Role button to apply the change.

You can also edit a person’s role assignments from their profile:

  1. Head to Team, then click the Actions dropdown to the right of the team member you’d like to update.
  2. Select Edit.
  3. Go to the person’s Basic Info (left menu).
  4. In the Roles field, you can add or remove the person’s role assignments.

Deleting Roles

To delete a role from your company:

  1. Head to Manage > Roles.
  2. Click the Delete button for the role you’d like to remove.

Deleting a role this way is permanent and can’t be undone.