There are two different views for your timesheet: Day view and Week view. From Day view, you can start a timer and add notes to your time entries. It’s particularly useful for tracking time as you work! From Week view, you can add a lot of time at once without needing to click through to individual days. It’s useful if you’d like to enter time for several days at once.

Certain account-wide company settings set by Administrators will change how you track time and the appearance of your time entries. You won’t be able to update or change these settings in your account, but we’ve outlined them for you below:

  • Time Format: This controls whether you use a 12-hour or 24-hour clock.
  • Time Display: Time will be displayed in either decimal format (e.g., 2 hours and 15 minutes appears as 2.25) or as HH:MM (e.g., 2 hours and 15 minutes appears as 2:15). Note that HH:MM shows on timesheets only; on reports, time always appears in decimal format for greater precision.
  • Timer Mode: Track time via duration or via start and end times. Note that the Week timesheet view can only be used to add and edit time entries if time is tracked via duration.
  • Start Week On: The first day of the week can be set to Saturday, Sunday, or Monday.

Day view

The Day view of your timesheet lets you track your time as you work. By either starting a timer to run while you take care of a task or adding entries for work you’ve already done, you can make sure your time is accurate and accounted for! In the Day view, you can also add notes to your time entries and edit previously entered time. You can reach this view by going to your Timesheet and ensuring that the Day/Week toggle is set to Day.

There are two ways to track time in your timesheet’s Day view. You can keep a timer running while you work—during a phone call with a client, for example—or enter time after the fact, when you get out of a meeting or at the end of the day.

Adding time

  1. Click the New Entry button.
  2. Choose your project and task. You can quickly select by typing the project or task name in the selection box and pressing your Enter key. Note that if you’re not seeing the project or task you need to track time to, you’ll need to ask an account Administrator to add that for you.
  3. If you want to keep any notes on your work, you can add those here, too
  4. Start a timer by clicking Start Timer, or enter a duration (or start and end times, if your timesheet is set up that way) and click Save Entry.

Note that because Harvest is web-based, your timesheet is constantly being saved whenever you start or end a timer or edit an entry—there’s no additional Save button to click!

Keyboard shortcuts

There are a few keyboard shortcuts for your timesheet that can help you start your timer even faster so you can get right back to the work at hand.

  • New Entry: Hit the N key on your keyboard.
  • Closing the New Entry window: Instead of clicking cancel, hit ESC on your keyboard.

Copying your last timesheet

If you work on the same tasks day to day, you can copy over the projects and tasks from your most recent timesheet. At the bottom of a blank timesheet, you’ll see a link to Copy over all rows from previous timesheet. If you click the link, the projects and tasks you worked on most recently, including any notes, will show up on your current timesheet without any tracked time.

Editing or deleting time

Click the pencil icon to edit or delete a time entry, as long as it hasn’t been locked. The project, task, notes, and start time (if you track time by start/end times) can be changed while a timer is running; once a timer is stopped, any aspect of the time entry can be changed.

A time entry will be locked against editing if it’s been approved or invoiced or is associated with an archived client, project, or task. To edit or delete it, you’ll need to first ask an account Administrator to unlock it for you.

Week view

The Week view of your timesheet is ideal for adding a lot of time at once, so head here if you need to enter time for several days—or even weeks! You can reach this view by going to Time > Timesheet and ensuring that the Day/Week toggle is set to Week.

To enter and edit time in the Week view, the Timer Mode preference in your Settings needs to be set to Track time via duration. Only account Administrators can control that setting. Otherwise, you’ll only be able to see (but not edit) hour totals in this view.

If you want a timer to run while you work or would like to add notes to your time entries, scroll up to learn more about Day View.

Entering time

  1. Click New Row.
  2. Choose your project and task and click Save Row. You can quickly select by typing the project or task name in the selection box and hitting the Enter key. Note that if you’re not seeing the project or task you need to track time to, you’ll need to ask an account Administrator to add that for you.
  3. Enter your time in the new row. You can click the Save button to save it immediately or wait and let Harvest automatically save it within a few seconds.

You might see that rows from a previous week have been automatically copied to the new week without any time entered. You can click the x for a row if you don’t need it—and you can always re-add the row later if you do spend time on that task.

Keyboard shortcuts

There are a few keyboard shortcuts that can help you fill out your weekly timesheet even faster.

  • To add a new row: Hit the N key on your keyboard.
  • To close the New Row window: Instead of clicking Cancel, press ESC on your keyboard.
  • To move between different days of the week: Use your tab key.

Editing or deleting ime

You can edit or delete time as long as it’s unlocked.

  • To add or change time for a project/task on a particular day: Click into the field in question and change it. Your timesheet will autosave in a few seconds, or you can manually save it.
  • To delete a week’s worth of time for a project/task: Click the x to the right of the row.

Note that if you want to edit a specific time entry rather than all of the time for that project/task and day, you’ll need to go to the Day view.

A time entry will be locked against editing if it’s been approved or invoiced or is associated with an archived client, project, or task. To edit or delete it, you’ll need to first ask an account Administrator to unlock it for you.