Add, edit, and archive tasks from Manage > Tasks. Once a task is added to your account, you can add it to any project. Then people can track time to it.

Adding Tasks

  1. Go to Manage > Tasks and click New Task.
  2. Name the task.
  3. Enter a default rate, if applicable. You can adjust it when you are creating or editing a project.
  4. Check Billable by default if the task is always billable, or make it a Common task to add it to all future projects.
  5. Click Save Task or Save Task and Add to All Current Projects to Save.

To add a task to a project:

  1. Go to Projects and click the Actions menu to the right of the project you’d like to edit.
  2. Select Edit to get to the Project Edit form.
  3. Scroll down until you see the Tasks list. Add the desired task from the menu.
  4. Save your project.

Editing, Archiving, and Deleting Tasks

Editing

You can edit tasks under Manage > Tasks by clicking Edit next to the task name.

Archiving

You can archive a task if it has time tracked to it. To archive a task:

  1. Go to Manage > Tasks, and click Edit next to the task name.
  2. Click the trash can icon.

Once you archive a task, it will be removed from all the projects it is associated with. Restore archived tasks from the Manage Archived Tasks page under Manage > Tasks.

If you restore a task, you also need to restore it on your projects, if necessary. This will allow you to track time to that task, on that project. To restore a task on a project:

  1. Go to Projects and click the Actions menu to the right of the project you’d like to edit.
  2. Select Edit to get to the Project Edit form.
  3. In the Tasks section, click Restore next to the task’s name to re-add it to the project.
  4. Then, click Update Project at the bottom of the page.

Deleting

You can only delete a task if it has no time tracked to it. To delete a task:

  1. Delete all time entries for that task.
  2. Go to Manage > Tasks, and click Edit next to the task name.
  3. Click the trash can icon to delete the task. You can not retrieve this information once it is deleted.